Grants & Open Calls
Open Call: 2020 IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award
Open Call

2020 IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award

  • English |  Français | Español | Chinese

  • Anja Niedringhaus' approach to photojournalism was best said herself, “I do my job simply to report people’s courage with my camera and with my heart.”

  • The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014), with a generous $1 million gift from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation. With this Award, the IWMF celebrates the courageous work of women photojournalists like Anja who inspire us to take action and better understand the world. This courageous work manifests in many different forms which may include but is not limited to conflict or frontline reporting. Past winners included Heidi Levine, Adriane Ohanesian, Stephanie Sinclair, Andrea Bruce, and Eloisa Lopez.

    Recipients of the Courage in Photojournalism Award will receive a cash prize of $20,000 and have their work showcased in Washington, DC. The IWMF will accept applications and third-party nominations in English, French, Chinese or Spanish until March 1, 2020. Please read the eligibility criteria and nomination guidelines, listed below, carefully before submitting a nomination. Entrants must be full-time women photojournalists of any nationality.

Applications are not accepted based on length of work or engagement in conflict areas. No matter your level of experience, you have a story to tell; if you are dedicated to your work in journalism and passionate about your content, apply!

Sign up with VISURA and submit to this award are FREE.
Deadline: March 1, 2020

Status: Closed


March 1, 2020 (11:59 PM, EST)


Submissions are closed.

Brief & Application Procedure

  • The IWMF will accept applications and third-party nominations in English, French, or Spanish until March 1, 2020. 

Eligibility Criteria:
  • Full-time journalists.
  • Journalism must be a candidate’s primary vocation.
  • Both freelance journalists and those affiliated with media organizations are eligible.
  • Identify as women.

 Nomination and Application Guidelines:

  • • Sign up for a VISURA Basic/Free, Standard, Plus, Prime or Guild membership account to submit for consideration.

•Each nomination and application must include candidate information, work samples made up of a series of 12 photographs, and a candidate/nomination statement.

For Work Sample:
  • **The required work samples are 12 photographs that best represent the scope and style of the candidate’s work, within the context of challenging reporting environments.
  • **All submissions are made via a “Story” created from your Visura photographer's dashboard.
    • **Stories should be set to 'private' within the Visura system.
  • **Image size: minimum 1600px on the longest dimension (22.5 inches @ 72 dpi, JPG format)
  • **Each photograph must be accompanied by a caption describing the date, place, and situation captured.
  • **Six (6) of the photos must have been taken within the past two years (2018-2020). The other six can be taken at any time during the candidate’s career.
  • **Limit one story per photographer.

  • For Candidate/Nomination Statement: 
  • **Submissions must include an up-to-500 words candidate/nomination statement. The statement must answer the following questions:
    • 1. What stories does the candidate tell through her photos?
    • 2. Under what conditions does the candidate work?
    • 3. How do the submitted photographs with this nomination capture the scope of the candidate’s work?
    • 4. How do the candidate’s career and work reflect the values of Anja Niedringhaus?
  • 5. Candidate statements must be written in English.

Click here to view a video tutorial on how to submit from the contest page. Click here to view a video tutorial on how to submit from the homepage. If you need further assistance for submission, please contact
For any inquiries related to the 2020 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award, please contact Jin Ding at