Grants & Open Calls
Open Call Rules
Open Call

2020 IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award

  • English |  Français | Español | Chinese

  • Anja Niedringhaus' approach to photojournalism was best said herself, “I do my job simply to report people’s courage with my camera and with my heart.”

  • The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014), with a generous $1 million gift from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation. With this Award, the IWMF celebrates the courageous work of women photojournalists like Anja who inspire us to take action and better understand the world. This courageous work manifests in many different forms which may include but is not limited to conflict or frontline reporting. Past winners included Heidi Levine, Adriane Ohanesian, Stephanie Sinclair, Andrea Bruce, and Eloisa Lopez.

    Recipients of the Courage in Photojournalism Award will receive a cash prize of $20,000 and have their work showcased in Washington, DC. The IWMF will accept applications and third-party nominations in English, French, Chinese or Spanish until March 1, 2020. Please read the eligibility criteria and nomination guidelines, listed below, carefully before submitting a nomination. Entrants must be full-time women photojournalists of any nationality.

Applications are not accepted based on length of work or engagement in conflict areas. No matter your level of experience, you have a story to tell; if you are dedicated to your work in journalism and passionate about your content, apply!

Sign up with VISURA and submit to this award are FREE.
Deadline: March 1, 2020

Terms & Conditions

Letter from the Visura founder Adriana Teresa regarding submission fees.


  • Open only to individuals who are Visura Annual Members with an active Basic (Free of cost), Standard, PLUS, PRIME, or GUILD annual membership, have reached the age of majority in their jurisdiction at the time of entry, and DO NOT reside where prohibited. 

  • Employees of FotoVisura Inc., The International Women Media Foundation, and related parties are ineligible.  Each nomination and application must include candidate information, work samples made up of a series of 12 photographs, and a candidate/nomination statement. The Contest begins on January 22, 2020at 8:00:00 a.m. US Eastern Daylight Time (“EDT”) and ends on March 1, 2020, at 11:59:00 p.m. EDT. 

  • One entry/nomination allowed per person. This is a merit-based contest and chance plays no part in the determination of winners. Odds of winning depend on the number of entries received and the skill of entrant. Information on how to enter and prizes form part of these official rules ("Official Rules"). By submitting an entry, each entrant agrees to the Official Rules and warrants that his or her entry complies with all requirements set out in the Official Rules. Review full Official Rules at


  • The sponsor is The International Women Foundation, 1625 K Street NW, Suite 1275 Washington, DC 20006, USA ("Sponsor").
(Click here for Visura's Terms & Condititions)