Grants & Open Calls
Open Call: 2021 IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award
Open Call

2021 IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award

Anja Niedringhaus' approach to photojournalism was best said herself, “I do my job simply to report people’s courage with my camera and with my heart.”

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014), with a generous $1 million gift from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation. With this Award, the IWMF celebrates the courageous work of women photojournalists like Anja who inspire us to take action and better understand the world. This courageous work manifests in many different forms which may include but is not limited to conflict or frontline reporting.

Recipients of the Courage in Photojournalism Award will receive a cash prize of $20,000 and have their work showcased in Washington, DC. The IWMF will accept applications and third-party nominations in English, French, or Spanish until March 21, 2021. Please read the eligibility criteria and nomination guidelines, listed below, carefully before submitting a nomination. Entrants must be full-time women photojournalists of any nationality.

Applications are not accepted based on length of work or engagement in conflict areas. No matter your level of experience, you have a story to tell; if you are dedicated to your work in journalism and passionate about your content, apply!

Sign up with VISURA and submit to this award are FREE.


Deadline: June 18, 2021

Status: Closed


June 18, 2021 (11:59 PM, EST)


Submissions are closed.

Brief & Application Procedure

The IWMF will accept applications and third-party nominations until midnight EDT on May 28, 2021.

Eligibility Criteria:
Full-time journalists.
Journalism must be a candidate’s primary vocation.
Both freelance journalists and those affiliated with media organizations are eligible.
Identify as women.

 Nomination and Application Guidelines:

• Sign up for a VISURA Basic/Free, Standard, Plus, Prime or Guild membership account to submit for consideration.
•Each nomination and application must include candidate information, work samples made up of a series of 12 photographs, and a candidate/nomination statement.

For Work Sample:
**The required work samples are 12 photographs that best represent the scope and style of the candidate’s work, within the context of challenging reporting environments.
**All submissions are made via a “Story” created from your Visura photographer's dashboard.
**Stories should be set to 'private' within the Visura system.
**Image size: minimum 1600px on the longest dimension (22.5 inches @ 72 dpi, JPG format)
**Each photograph must be accompanied by a caption describing the date, place, and situation captured.
**Six (6) of the photos must have been taken within the past two years (2019-2021). The other six can be taken at any time during the candidate’s career.
**Limit one story per photographer.

For Candidate/Nomination Statement: 
**Submissions must include an up-to-500 words candidate/nomination statement. The statement must answer the following questions:
1. What stories does the candidate tell through her photos?
2. Under what conditions does the candidate work?
3. How do the submitted photographs with this nomination capture the scope of the candidate’s work?
4. How do the candidate’s career and work reflect the values of Anja Niedringhaus?
5. Candidate statements must be written in English.

Additional Requirements for the Contest:

  • The photographer must be the author of the pictures submitted in her/their name.
  • The photographer, or the agent or representative entering on their behalf, must be the copyright holder or have been authorized by the copyright holder to submit the pictures.
  • The IWMF reserves the right to ask finalists or the winner for the RAW, or original camera files captured directly by the camera, to be submitted for review if the submission advances to final rounds of judging. Photographers must be open and transparent about the entire process through which their pictures are made and be accountable to the IWMF for their practice. 
  • Photographs must not be manipulated in any way, except for basic color and contrast correction, along with minor lightness and darkness adjustments. Digitally enhanced or altered photographs, beyond the basics noted above, are unacceptable. The IWMF values authenticity and deceptive images will be disqualified. 
  • Photographers must not intentionally alter the scene they picture by re-enacting or staging events and must ensure the editing provides an accurate and fair representation of the photograph’s context.
  • The photographer must not have paid their subject(s), either in goods or money, or promise of favor or influence.
  • Each photo submitted in a series of photographs must be accompanied by a caption that is complete and accurate, sufficient to convey the circumstances in which each photograph was taken, and include the date created and geographical location. Disguising or misrepresenting the origin of the content is cause for disqualification.
  • Each photograph must not, in the sole and unfettered discretion of the IWMF, contain objectionable or inappropriate content.
  • Watermarks are not accepted. 
  • The IWMF’s Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award follows NPPA’s code of ethics

Click here to view a video tutorial on how to submit from the contest page. Click here to view a video tutorial on how to submit from the homepage. If you need further assistance for submission, please contact

For any inquiries related to the 20201 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award, please contact Claudia Gonzalez at