Grants & Open Calls
Open Call: East African Photography Award 2023 - Single Images
Open Call

East African Photography Award 2023 - Single Images

The annual East African Photography Award (EAPA) is open to citizens from Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

For its 6th edition we're inviting photographers to submit their work into single image entry with 3 categories:

1. Human: Images that speak of people, humanity and mankind.
2. Planet: Related to anything to do with our world.
3. Imagine: For creative, innovative and experimental images.

Entrants are invited to submit up to 3 images into any of these 3 categories or all 3.

The single-image overall winner gets $700 cash prize and other prizes.

While we expect the ‘Human’ and ‘Planet’ categories to follow the more classic photojournalism and documentary style and will follow those age old guidelines, we invite more creative ways of showcasing topical issues in the ‘Imagine’ category. Beyond that, you are free to interpret what the categories mean to you (and there are no wrong answers!).
Deadline: August 1, 2023