Grants & Open Calls
Open Call: 2023 Excellence in Photojournalism
Open Call

2023 Excellence in Photojournalism

The AAJA Photo Awards recognize the best visual journalism by AAJA members. All awards will be judged by a group of veteran photographers and editors with a variety of expertise and specializations for multiple rounds. We will recognize one winner and one runner-up in each category (Single/Stories). All photographs must comply with the National Press Photographers Association Code of Ethics.

Entrants must have an AAJA membership. Join Here.

More About AAJA Awards:

The Asian American Journalists Association has honored excellence in journalism since 1987. Through our awards, AAJA aims to highlight and amplify journalists and nonfiction storytellers whose work exemplifies our mission for greater AAPI representation and meaningful inclusion in the media industry and in media coverage. AAJA seeks to highlight insightful stories of underrepresented communities and the journalists who work to bring their stories to light.
AAJA recognizes excellence in journalism by working journalists across a number of categories and platforms. Submissions of work that displays outstanding storytelling, in-depth reporting that moves the industry and cultural understandings forward, and pieces that demonstrate impact* are highly encouraged. Special consideration is given to top-notch journalism about the AAPI community, in the U.S. or abroad.
Freelance journalists are welcome to submit their work. Contest entrants are limited to AAJA members only, however, journalists 
may join the organization prior to submitting their awards application. AAJA is open to all journalists, regardless of ethnic or racial identity.
Judges reserve the right to award more than one winner in any category, or not to award any winner in any category.
*Impact can be demonstrated in a number of ways, including audience engagement or reach, policy change, attention from lawmakers or people in positions of power, the publication itself if the topic or story has never been told publicly before.

Special Thanks
Judging of AAJA's Excellence in Photojournalism categories proudly sponsored and powered by Visura, a platform empowering the visual community.
Deadline: February 28, 2023